Library Search - Finding Articles, Books, Videos and More

Would you like to know if the NWTC library provides access to the online version of a specific journal?  Are you wondering what full-text magazines the library has on a particular topic? Just use the Find Journals search option!

You can search for a specific journal title in the search box by using the Find Journals option on the third tab.

If you change the drop down menu from Title to Keyword, you can search for journals by topic area.

On the results screen, you will see the journals listed along with the collections that have them.  Click the collection name to browse through the journal issues. 

You can also search for articles within a particular journal by typing in a word or phrase in the search box below the journal title.

The easiest way to set up a e-journal alert is to email Kim LaPlante and tell her which journals you would like sent to your email.  The Library staff can set them up on your behalf if we have access to the latest issues.

Otherwise, follow the instructions below for journals that are in our EBSCO or ProQuest databases.

After searching Publications Search, click on the database name for the journal (there may be more than one listed under Full Text Access).  If you see that you have been taken to the EBSCO database, follow the instructions below to set up an alert.

1. Click the Share arrow  (in the upper right-hand corner).
2. Then click Email Alert
3. Click Sign In to login with your Google Account or EBSCO Account.  If you do not have these, you can create a new EBSCO account.
4. Select the results format - Brief or Detailed
5. Check the box so that you will only get emails when the full text is ready for you to access.
6. Click Save Alert

After searching Publications Search, click on the database name for the journal (there may be more than one listed under Full Text Access).  If you see that you have been taken to ProQuest, follow the instructions below to set up an alert.

1. Click Create Alert from the left side publication page.
2. Choose to receive the alert only when the Full Text is available.
3. Enter your preferred email address for receiving alerts.
4. Type in what you want the subject of the emails to be (such as Read this journal, Kim).
5. Decide if you want to add an optional message to yourself about this email.
6. The Stop After field default is 6 months, but you can choose to have the alert last anywhere from 2 weeks to one year by clicking on the drop down arrow.
7. Click Create Alert.

You will receive a confirmation page summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click "Done". Otherwise you can click "Delete This Alert".  You will receive an email that includes the table of contents for the latest issue and links to the full text articles.