LibGuides: Health Equity Guide: Online Resources

Got Questions?

Click on the chat icon in the lower right side of the page or visit our Ask a Librarian site to search or browse our FAQs.

EthnoMed
Provides information on cultural beliefs, language, and health issues of recent immigrants.
Includes select related web resources.
National Center for Cultural Competence at Georgetown University
Provides information on cultural and linguistic competency.
Transcultural Nursing Society (TCNS)
Mission is "to ensure that the culture care needs of the people in the world will be met by nurses prepared in transcultural nursing and health care."
Includes a comprehensive collection of resource links.
Wisconsin Department of Health Services Minority Health Resources
Resources include those related to DHS initiatives to eliminate disparities.
Immigrant, Refugee, and Migrant Health (CDC)
Includes sections on Refugee Health Profiles and Health Education and Communication Tools.

CINAHL Ultimate Health Articles This link opens in a new window
Professional nursing/health articles.
CINAHL Help Guide, Video Intro to CINAHL, Access the CINAHL App

ProQuest Nursing & Health Articles This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of nursing and health issues.
If you are off-campus, you may need to login as [Your NWTC ID]@nwtc.edu (for example, 12345678@nwtc.edu) with your NWTC password. You may also need to use multi-factor authentication to verify your identify.
EBSCO Health Articles This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive nursing and allied health articles.

Symptom Media Film Library This link opens in a new window
180 clinical training video clips illustrating symptoms.
If you are off-campus, you may need to login as [Your NWTC ID]@nwtc.edu (for example, 12345678@nwtc.edu) with your NWTC password. You may also need to use multi-factor authentication to verify your identify.

PubMed Central
Database of full-text articles from biomedical and life sciences scholarly journals. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine.

NWTC students can access the following nursing & allied health resources by visiting UW-Green Bay campuses in Green Bay, Marinette, Manitowoc, and Sheboygan.

Cochrane Library
A collection of meta-analyses and systematic reviews on a broad array of medical research.
SPORTDiscus
Subjects covered include sports medicine, coaching & education, consumer health, nutrition, exercise science, health education, physical therapy, and all fields related to sports science.

For a full list of resources available on UW-Green Bay campuses, see A-Z Databases: Nursing & Health Studies.